Monday was a special day for Nigerian football as the governing body NFF hosted an Award ceremony in the city of Lagos. The award was in recognition of the performances of players in the respective national teams as well as the league.

The major winner in the awards was AL-Nassr forward Ahmed Musa who went home with the Player of the Year and the Goal of the Year awards. The 26-year-old has enjoyed an unforgettable 12 months with the national team.

He has emerged as a real leader of the team and has allowed continuity in leadership in the absence of captain John Obi Mikel. Musa beat fellow teammates Odion Ighalo and Alex Iwobi to the player of the year award. Ighalo has been impressed with the Super Eagles in recent matches and has won over many fans who were initially sceptical about the player.

Alex Iwobi is one of the key players for Gernot Rohr as the Arsenal forward has generally performed well for the Super Eagles when called upon.

For the Goal of the Year award, Musa won the award for his goal against Iceland in the World Cup group stage in Russia. Musa scored twice in the game with the first goal involving an excellent control and efficient shooting.

However, “the second goal was the pick of the bunch as it involved an excellent solo run in which he beat his marker and rounded up the goalkeeper before placing the ball into the roof of the net.The NFF panel adjudged this goal as the Goal of the Year “which is duly deserved.

Villareal teenage prodigy Samuel Chekwueze won the Young Player of the Year ahead of Henry Onyekuru and Victor Osimhen. Chukwueze has emerged as one of the top young talents in the Spanish league with his trickery, pace and eye for goal showing that the youngster has a bright future ahead.